Week 10 reflection post

 What was the most interesting thing you learned from a class colleague this semester?

Was the content of this course what you were expecting it to be? What would you like to have spent more time learning? Less time focusing on?

What was your favorite project or reading you worked on this semester? If you had to eliminate a project or reading, what would it be?

 

This class has reminded me that learning is a lifelong process. We learn at home, in school, museums, and in libraries. Makerspaces are a big part of the learning environment. Unlike a formal school setting, makerspaces are informal and flexible learning environments where learning happens through doing. “…children should engage in tinkering and making because they are powerful ways to learn.”  This class has given me some hands-on experience with learning through making, and it has been very educational. I have a new appreciation for makerspaces. Since libraries are community hubs, we are a vital part of learning through makerspaces.

What drives us to make?  “Making things and then making those things better is at the core of humanity” (Martinez, 2013)  One of the great things I’ve learned is that makerspaces come in all sizes and contain all types of materials. I used to think makerspaces had to have the latest 3D printers, or other expensive electronics. I have learned, thanks to this class, that “making” means ANY kind of making, from crafts and crayons, to the most advanced electronics. Making encompasses anything using any material imaginable.

Even as adults, we are constantly learning. “Throughout life, people engage in a process of continuous learning about things in which they have a personal investment. Learning that occurs outside of schools or the workplace- through hobbies, reading, the media, and so on- is almost always tied to their passions.” (Martinez, 2013) It’s not something we always think about, but learning something that we have a passion for is easy. We are invested in it. Since learning is a lifelong process, every day promises new things to learn and see. We also have to pass that mindset on to children. You are not just learning something only when you are in a formal class setting.  The opportunity to learn is everywhere.

I learned to play Minecraft with my kids.  The games & learning project was my favorite assignment of the class. Getting to play with my kids let me see the game through their eyes. It was fantastic.

My least favorite assignment was the Maker Faire project. I think it was because it was in the context of a graded assignment, and like many students, my project didn’t progress as expected.

My favorite book was “Invent to Learn” because it helped me to see learning in a way I hadn’t seen before.

I can’t pinpoint the best thing I’ve learned from a class colleague this semester, but I’ve found that reading all of the blogs and comments have helped me see how each one of us learns and takes away something different from the same lesson. “Different people, when presented with exactly the same information in exactly the same way, will learn different things…” (Martinez, 2013)  Those different viewpoints have complimented what I have learned. I’ve been able to see the same lesson from other people’s point of view.

As someone who has worked in libraries for many years, this class has revitalized my belief in the importance of libraries.  We are in an era where information is constantly changing, “Learning in an age of constant change simply never stops. In the new culture of learning, the bad news is that we rarely reach any final answers. But the good news is that we get to play again, and we may find even more satisfaction in continuing the search.” (Thomas, 2011)  I am now ready to play.

 

Martinez, Sylvia Libow, and Gary Stager. Invent to Learn: Making, Tinkering, and Engineering in the Classroom. Contructing Modern Knowledge, 2013. Kindle.

Thomas, Douglas, and John Seely. Brown. A New Culture of Learning: Cultivating the Imagination for a World of Constant Change. Lexington, KY: CreateSpace, 2011. Kindle.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

